Miami County Foundation Announces New Directors of the Board
Information and images provided by the Miami County Foundation    
PIQUA – Miami County Foundation welcomes three new members to its board of directors. (Pictured below from left to right in the order they are mentioned...)


   Christy Butera is a licensed civil engineer for the City of Troy and has been in public employment for more than 20 years, having worked previously for the cities of Tipp City and Xenia. She prides herself in the positive relationships she has built and developed with local business owners, developers, contractors and residents throughout her career, making her transition into this relationship-oriented service role a familiar fit. Christy is a University of Dayton and 2021 Leadership Troy graduate. She resides in Tipp City with her husband Scott and her sons, Zach and Logan.

   Shane Carter was born and raised in Troy, Ohio. He earned his bachelor’s degree in business management from the University of Wisconsin, where he received a scholarship to play football. In 2011 he became the executive director of Lincoln Community Center. In 2020 he directed the successful completion of a multi-million-dollar campaign that renovated and expanded the center. His experience with the capital project recently led to him becoming a grant review committee member for Miami County Foundation’s capital requests. Shane takes pride in creating a community where everyone can thrive, and he focuses on giving back to those who can benefit from his experiences. He lives in Troy with his wife Rachel and two young daughters.

   Erin Johnston formerly served as treasurer of The Overfield School’s board of trustees that in 2015 led her to her current employment as finance lead of the school. As a CPA who previously practiced in public accounting, she brings a strong sense of professionalism, business knowledge and administration. Erin has a bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of Dayton and a master’s degree in accountancy from Wright State University. She and her husband TJ reside in Troy, Ohio and have two children.


   Erin noted, “Having had the privilege of accepting past grant awards on behalf of organizations I represented, I can appreciate first-hand the meaningful work that Miami County Foundation does for our community. It is impossible to be present at a Miami County Foundation award ceremony and not be equally humbled and inspired by the incredible people in Miami County who are working for so many important and positively impactful causes. The foundation continuously makes funds accessible to support these organizations and schools. Being a part of this circle of giving, I truly feel that I am in a room of ‘People Helping People.’”

   Long-time director of the board, Bradley Vath, recently completed his term as immediate past president and fully retired in 2021. David Larson completed his term as president of the board in 2021 and remains on the board as immediate past president. Their fellow board members and executive director, Natalie Rohlfs, extend their gratitude for their past leadership and service. 

   At an October board meeting, Michael Moore, PhD, was unanimously elected as president for a two-year term. Moore shared, “In the years that I have been fortunate to work with the foundation, I've been a witness to the amazing impact that it has had on the people, organizations and communities of Miami County. It has been an honor to serve with the other members of the board and to be nominated as president. I look forward to working with this team to continue to grow the good work being done by Miami County Foundation.” Dr. Moore is the assistant superintendent of Troy City Schools.

   The following Miami County residents actively serve on the board of directors for Miami County Foundation: Michael Moore (president), Angela Lewis (vice president), Stacey Earhart (secretary), Jennifer Loffer-Smith (treasurer), David Larson (past president), Richard N. Adams, PhD, Leesa Baker (administrative committee at-large), Christy Butera, Shane Carter, Carol Netzley Coate, Joe Duncan, Erin Johnston, James Oda, Neil Thiesing (administrative committee at-large), Paul Watkins and Justin Wurster. The foundation consistently represents cities, townships, and villages throughout Miami County with its board members’ involvement, grants awarded to schools and non-profits, students served through its scholarships, and donor and business partnerships.

   Serving as a catalyst, Miami County Foundation provides support for local programs including those in the arts, community development, education, health and human services. Miami County Foundation effectively assists, encourages and promotes the health, education and welfare of the citizens of Miami County by soliciting, receiving and administrating assets exclusively for their charitable needs. The foundation typically awards grants in the spring and fall and student scholarships for Miami County, Ohio students in the late spring. For more information visit

Christy Butera.jpg
Shane Carter.jpg
Erin Johnston.jpg